Saturday, 16 June 2012

7 Wonders of the World: Divine Beauty of Architectural Heritage

Author: Jimmy Singh
The seven wonders of the world are the remarkable heritage that the humankind on this earth has. The seven wonders of the world are Great Pyramid of Giza, Hanging Gardens of Babylon, Statue of Zeus at Olympia, ...
Temple of Artemis at Ephesus, Mausoleum of Maussollos at Halicarnassus, Colossus of Rhodes and Lighthouse of Alexandria.
Great pyramid of Giza were constructed back in 2584-2561 BC. The Egyptians made this wonder as the tomb of the fourth dynasty Egyptian pharaoh Khufu. It is the only monument from the 7 wonders of the world that is still standing.
Hanging Gardens of Babylon were constructed back in 605-562 BC by the Babylonians. Diodorus Siculus described multi-leveled gardens reaching 22 meters high and were made to circulate water. These gardens were destructed due to earthquake. Statue of Zeus at Olympia and the temple were made in 466-456 BC by the Greeks. The statue occupied the whole width of the aisle of the temple that was built to house it. It is presumed that it was destroyed by fire or earthquake.
Temple of Artemis at Ephesus was constructed in 550 BC by Lydians, Persians, and Greeks. It was dedicated to Greek goddess Artemis and took 120 year to build. It was destroyed in the 356 BC by Herostratus and again in AD 409 by Goths after Alexander the great rebuilt it. Mausoleum of Maussollos at Halicarnassus was built in 351 BC by Persians, Greeks. It has various sculpture relief. It was destroyed in an earthquake and by some European Crusaders.
Colossus of Rhodes was built in 292-280 BC by Greeks. It has a giant statue of the Greek god Helios. It was destroyed in an earthquake. Lighthouse of Alexandria was built in 280 BC by Hellenistic Egypt people. It is amongst the tallest structures on earth and was destroyed in an earthquake.
Latest seven wonders of the world were announced on 7th July 2007. In a poll 25 finalist monuments were present and the whole world voted for their best monuments. Out of those seven were chosen.
Seven Wonders of the World are the most precious pieces of architecture present on this planet of life. They are the hub of tourism.
Article Source:
About the Author
Jimmy Singh is associated with Wonders of The All World. He has done Master of Tourism Administration from Bangalore. He has been providing great thoughts and insights. To know more 7 wonders of the world, latest seven wonders of the world, ancient wonders, medieval wonders, underwater wonders visit

No comments:

Post a Comment